“Ignition; Emerging Playwrights of Color”

I had the great fortune of getting a festival pass to participate as a press writer for InChiCity for Ignition; Emerging Playwrights of Color at Victory Gardens Theater in Chicago. I saw the preview on Wednesday with my friend Elise and got a chance to hear about 10 minutes from all 5 of the plays. Then there was wine…oh glorious wine!

I missed the first day which was Thursday due to car troubles so Friday I had to take the train. Check out how the day faired.

Friday, 8 August 2008

6:00 p.m.

Since I’m not used to riding the train, I missed about 3 of them trying to get down the street. I had to get change and still make it to the train, I waited for this woman at the kiosk to put money on her card. She was taking FOREVER! I finally put my dollars into the machine and get the card. I’m waiting for the GREEN Line train for a little over 30 minutes. After the train comes you have to transfer to the RED Line.

6:35 p.m.

Sitting on the RED Line train. I can’t stand this train, it’s the nastiest and dirtiest train in the city. It smells. Oh wait…that’s the guy next to me. I feel like you can get some sorta disease just sitting on this train, like you gotta carry one o those paper seat toilet covers for sanitary purposes. I was blogging on my phone and lost connection to the internet. I wonder when the world comes to an end, will people have to live in the tunnels of the ciites train system? I hate when people eat one fry at a time. This guy is eating McDonalds fries one at a time. Anyway-there some many things to think about on the train.

7:17 p.m.

I arrived at Fullerton and Lincoln. I make my way to the theater with a friend of mine. We try to acquire tickets. Many people were frenetic. Rushing to get tickets before it started. We were coming to see “A Better Babylon” written by Michael Lew. We grab our tickets and get a wrist band for the evening party.

7:30 p.m.

Performance beings. Talking…talking..talking…”Come back little Vietnamise baby so I can bomb you!” climax-Gunshot! Red lights!

8:36 p.m.

Intermission

I tell my friend how I don’t like to talk about a play during the intermission because it messes with my thought process. Some people try and analyze what they see and comment on things and haven’t seen the entire play.

8:51 p.m.

Intermission ends, we’re back to the second half! Talking…talking…decisions…characters breakdown…riots…they continue to study.

9:50 p.m.

Show ends and brief discussion with the playwright Michael Lew.

10:30 p.m.

The Partay! Sugarplum catering is the bomb and they are in Hyde Park! Their black bean and hummus on a mini corn chip was guuud! Wine…oh glorious wine!!

11:30 p.m.

We had our t-shirts made by Modati. It was a grueling process but I got two made! I had to sit down at some point because we literally stood up in line for an hour and a half.

12:15 a.m.

We leave and make our way South. What a fun night! Great play and great company. I’ll review the play “A Better Babylon” in another post!

The stage boss has spoken!

Sydney

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Sounds like an interesting evening! I look forward to reading your review.

Leave a Reply

