In Da Club with 50 Cent

There are major moments in one’s life that shape ones’ adolescence.  Your first visit from the Tooth Fairy, Puberty,  Sweet 16, the right to vote and the illustrious age of 21 where you can finally, legally drink alcohol.  Where do most virgins pop their 21st birthday “cherry?”

http://www.vevo.com/watch/50-cent/In-Da-Club-(Intl-Version)/USIV20400681

You guessed it; at the club!  Thanks to 50 Cent and other music artist’s ode to the club; the club has become the sanctuary for recent-of-age converts to take communion with a good ole fashioned Long Island Iced Tea.  By the end of the night-between sexually named body shots, humping a perfect stranger, peeing in the street and throwing up in a random alley-you wake up the next morning anew.  Baptised in adulthood with a major hangover…something like these guys.

However, I hate clubs.  I hate the smell of desperation and posing.  The overpriced admission, drinks and the old ass music. Why would I pay someone to spin music that I actually already own on my iPod?  What is the joy of standing around in 5″ stilettos that give me an illusory height, with an illusory flat stomach using Body Magic and the illusory booty using the Booty Pop shifting and hiding my imperfections?  I just simply hate them.

But as much as I hate them-they intrigue me.  The club is the new form of theater.  There’s an audience, dancing, costumes, lights, and of course drama.  Loads of it.  From disgruntled, former football player door guards, an elitist VIP section, single women and down-low men all vying for that coveted prize of a phone number or a one-night stand.

How they are marketed, packaged and travel through word of mouth, radio ads, flyers, and street teams is worthy of exploration.  Someone tells them day after day, night after night, during the lunch mix at noon and the drive at five that they need to be at this party.  That celebrities will be at this party or free drinks before 10 p.m.

What drives the audiences to these clubs?  The free drinks, the possibility of being seen, the idea that they could potential find a mate, the freedom to socialize and of course to dance.  It’s their own private performance that they prepare for each weekend. Theater needs to start marketing their plays like a weekend club.  Make it a totally involved experience for their patrons.  Create an event that their audience members will feel invested in and be willing to get up weekend after weekend to see.

Some of these clubs close and reopen under new names all of the time; if it’s not working…rename it-start over.  No one says you have to stick with the same formula or look of the piece.  Don’t underestimate the power of “word-of-mouth.”  In the meantime, I’ll be working on my plans.  In your opinion, what are some ways to get the audience to return?  Share.

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I feel like you crawled in my head and voiced my thoughts. I like the idea of thinking of the club as theater..Its guerrilla theater …there is a place for it in society, but for the most part its bullshit…but yet im there every week doing it again and again..what in your opinion would be the counterculture to this mechanism, should there be a response, or should we just continue to spend ridiculous amounts of money and be controlled by the social obligations forced upon us as twenty somethings..like “well im twenty somthing this is what im suppose to do”. I had this idea based off of this guy Hakim Bey… writes about a concept called T.A.Z, or Temporary Autonomous Zone aka, Poetic Terrorism, aka Ontological Anarchy. The book describes the socio-political tactic of creating temporary spaces that elude formal structures of control. The essay uses various examples from history and philosophy, all of which suggest that the best way to create a non-hierarchical system of social relationships is to concentrate on the present and on releasing one’s own mind from the controlling mechanisms that have been imposed on it. NOw of course this book is talking about more pressing world issues, but I do think there is a problem with us being so controlled into this social outlet we call clubbing, that is not that positive and attracts and leads to groups of people having no true substance…anyway im ranting and getting off track a bit..a all in all I really like your blog..and I just subscribed.

    Thanks

    • Hi Angel,
      Thanks for sharing your thoughts and views on my post. I need to read Mr. Bey’s book. Sounds really interesting; it holds truth for all instances regardless of how minute. What would be the alternative? Hmm-I think it has to be a serious revolution on the part of others. I found out about the club through my friends who said it was “cool.” My parents told me that the club was no place for a young lady. So who do you think I listened to when I got to college? I think parents, adults, care-givers have to be honest with their children and teens. Make art and alternative social events a major source of entertainment. That would definitely change the mind-set of club-goers. Most people don’t look for things to do…they are told. So we-the artists, trendsetters and go-getters have to tell them that weekend after weekend there is something more interesting to do. I’m hoping with my theater company we can present the alternative. Thanks again for stopping by-feel free to share me with your friends! Thanks for subscribing.

  2. its very good…good and plenty.
    whatever that means.

Leave a Reply

