Tunes x Tuesday: I want you to play with my DING A LING!

Chuck Berry from London Sessions courtesy of Go Head On!

Now, I could have easily created a post on Chuck Berry’s “Johnny B Goode” or “Madelline” but why would I do something like that?  There’s a Laurel Thatcher Ulrich quote that says, “Well-behaved women rarely make history.”  So in the spirit of making history…check out Chuck Berry’s “Ding a Ling” song.  (Even The Simpsons’ got in on it too.)

“Ding a Ling” was Berry’s only number 1 hit on the U.S. Pop Charts.  Of course people wanted to ban it for it’s innuendo and tone…I can think of-a many songs that we should ban RIGHT now with no innuendo or creativity.  One particular Chicago crooner comes to mind.  Anyway-I thought this was hilarious!  You have to have a sense of humor to be apart of The Tofu Chitlin’ Circuit.

I loved the old Chuck Berry-he was a true performer and is always looked over as being a true pioneer of Rock and Roll.

Theater Notes: I love how hesitant the audience is until he gently coerces them into singing the chorus.  He’s humourous and his genuine demeanor eases the tension in the room.  I think we can take a couple of lessons from Mr. Berry.  If you want the audience to participate, you’ve got to make it fun, however, just don’t play with your Ding a Ling!

Leave a Reply

